Life Lessons: Things I’ll Never Do To Myself Again

Tonight I’ve been browsing through my ‘Documents’ folder in the hope of mercilessly casting aside useless files from days gone by; it’s a cleansing ritual I do every 4 months to keep my folder neat and my kilobyte figures low.

Deep in the archives, I found a list I’d made whilst in the recovery period from a particularly tough time in my life. Between summer and Christmas of the previous year, I became increasingly depressed and anxious, with copious work demands and faltering personal relationships crushing my spirit. As I’ve mentioned before, I’m a habitual creator of new year’s resolutions and this time it was especially important to ensure I had learned from my mistakes.


Things I’ll Never Do To Myself Again

Lie to myself and deny what I’m feeling
– Think I’m right about everything/everyone
– Disregard my intuition
– Make myself appear smaller or sell myself short
– Overthink – my subconscious will always figure it out
– You can’t intellectualise how you feel so just let feelings happen and rationalise them afterwards 
– Take anybody for granted
– Become emotionally dependent on others
– Offload emotional baggage onto people
– Romanticise a person 
– Try to ‘fix’ anyone
– Think I’m not in control and therefore let others dictate how I feel.


Sometimes we lose ourselves in the process of caring about other people. No matter how rough things get, always take the time to care for yourself.

If you need a starting point, I wrote an ‘everyday self-love’ list here that might help you: A Short Guide to Self-Love.

Author: Madie_H

Article themes: feminism, music, self-improvement, Buffy, astrology, humour and critical analysis. I'm also partial to making lists and giving advice so look out for many How-to life hacks too! Love Madie. https://popculturepartywarrior.wordpress.com/

2 thoughts on “Life Lessons: Things I’ll Never Do To Myself Again”

    1. When you feel an attraction towards someone and run with it, without imposing a sense of rationality in how you view them. You start to idolise them by way of excessive thinking and rose-tinted glasses, but you might be in too much of a dream-like state to notice it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

